Classification of Gas Turbine Engines

Gas turbine engines are the power plants for all flying aircraft/helicopters (also known as aero-engines or aero-derivative gas turbines) and the source of power in various industrial applications such as automobiles, tanks, marine vessels, and electric power production. Gas turbines are classified as follows:

Turbojet engines

In the 1940s, turbojet engines were the first type of jet engine utilized to propel aircraft. This aircraft engine revolutionized air transportation. It significantly decreased air travel costs and increased safety on board. Additionally, the turbojet enabled higher speeds, including supersonic ones. Compared to piston-driven engines, it featured a far higher ratio of thrust to weight, which immediately translated to longer ranges, greater payloads, and less expensive maintenance. Military fighters and fast business jets use turbojet engines:

  • Turbojet engines may be classified as a single spool or double spool. 
  • Turbojets are also categorized as either afterburning or non-afterburning. An afterburner is used to boost thrust. Afterburners are only used by fighter aircraft when essential.  The Concorde was the only civil transport aircraft equipped with an afterburner. 
  • Turbojet engines may be also classified as nuclear or nonnuclear engines. However, all the nuclear engine projects were abandoned in favor of safety.
Spread the love

Active Avionics Engineer and aircraft lover. I want to share informational articles about the aviation field

1 thought on “Classification of Gas Turbine Engines”

Leave a Comment